Why do you want to lose weight?

I often hear people claim that they want to lose weight because they want to get healthy. While this is a commendable reason I know this is not the true reason most of us want to achieve this goal. I believe first and foremost most of us want to lose weight and get into better shape simply because we want to look good.

One of the benefits of getting into shape and looking your best is good health. So good health in most cases is actually a by-product of being in shape and looking good. I once heard someone say that if you are losing weight to look good instead of being healthy then you are shallow and full of vanity. Does the reason or motivation even matter? Is a successful weight loss transformation to be discredited because it was not done for health reasons?  All that matter is, you are making progress and getting the results you want, be it for health, fitness or vanity reasons.

When people lose weight they rarely show you their medical reports, they show their picture. They are often proud of their achievement and some suddenly become in love with the camera. You see this dynamic play out a lot on social media like Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.  People are constantly posting images of themselves daily simply because THEY LIKE THE WAY THEY LOOK. When you look good, you feel good and that could be a legitimate reason to lose weight all by itself. Can the end goal of looking good be enough of motivating factor for you to lose weight?

4 thoughts on “Why do you want to lose weight?

  1. Hey! I wanted to lose weight initially to be healthier. But after seeing what I was looking like, it did help push me further although I enjoyed the health benefits.

    • I started losing weight because I saw a picture of myself and it put things into perspective, I didn’t want to look like that. I lost 30 pounds and was stronger than I had ever been (thanks to Shaun T and my neighborhood dfjmorning boot-camp classes), then started slacking off. After gaining 10 pounds back, I woke up again and realized I missed feeling strong and l could see that I had lost some of the muscle definition I had before. So ultimately…I want to look good and feel good for me. I realized a long time ago, whether its for looking good or trying to be something you never were before, it has to be for you, otherwise you’re more likely to quit half way through. You have a great blog by the way!

  2. Love this, so much truth in here! When you an actually accept you want to lose weight to look good, you are half way there cause there is your motivation right there! Thanks for stopping by my blog.

Leave a Reply

